Cantonese-English Popup Dictionary for Chrome

Cantonese-English Popup Dictionary for Chrome.

Steps:

1. Install Mouseover Dictionary Framework First
2. Then, install Cantonese-English dictionary

How to use:

1. Everytime when you use the dictionary, click on the dictionary icon and choose “Cantonese-English Dictionary”

2. Wait a few seconds while it’s loading

3. When the blue label changes to “YUE”, click “reload” and it is ready to use.

I know nothing about programming and got this working  just by luck. I only renamed my modified Canto.dat for CantoFish, a Cantonese-English dictionary plugin for Firefox, into CFDICT.u8 (CFDICT is the original name of the file) and threw it back to the extension folder of this Mandarin-French Dictionary.

Thanks 談梓泓 from Cantonese Sheik’s forum for paying the publication fee. Google charges 5 USD for publishing extension for the first time. I don’t want to pay because I don’t want to leak my personal info. Thanks professor Hutton for allowing me to use his work! Finally, thanks OZ for modifying the plugin for Cantonese!

Update:
1. As of Aug 21st 2013, the plugin still works fine.
2. I asked 談梓泓 to update the database. Sadly, he encountered technical difficulties and can’t update the database.

11 comments

  1. Hi. I’m the author of Mandarin-English Dictionary extension (Mandarin-French Dictionary that your extension is based on is actually a derivative work of mine). I’d like to tell you that I’ve made a modified version of your extension that can handle Yale romanization system correctly (and several useful features have been added: see the options page). So, try it out (unzip the downloaded file, go to chrome://extensions/ , press “Load unpacked extension” button and choose the folder just created) and update your extension if you like it.

    1. Hi Oz,
      Thanks for the modification!
      Since I am not the one who uploads the extension,
      I will have to contact him for update.
      Anyway, keep on the great work!

  2. […] And there are also instructions on how to use a converted CantoFish dictionary in Google Chrome: Link […]

  3. hi does this work on galaxy tab

    1. I don’t have Galaxy tab. The plugin is free and you can test it yourself.

  4. […] dictionary was compiled by writecantonese8 (blogpost link here) using data from “Dictionary of Cantonese Slang: The Language of Hong Kong Movies, Street […]

  5. Hi is it possible to have make an option to display Cantonese and Mandarin at the same time?

  6. I need English translated into Cantonese. The link to the dictionary only allows me to translate Cantonese into English, which is useless for me. Please advise? Or do you have a link to another dictionary?

  7. thanks for this, I’ve been using it for a really long time now and it has been extremely useful. I use it on a daily basis and I can’t express how grateful I am for this tool.

  8. Hi. I’m the author of MDF on which your Cantonese dictionary extension relies. I’m here again to let you know that recently MDF was officially retired and superseded by a new framework called GDF (http://goo.gl/3qzx0A) which is not backward compatible with the predecessor.

    After announcing the deprecation of MDF, some of your users asked me about the future of your extension. Simply put, it still works (at least for some time) but may stop working if future versions of Chrome introduce some breaking changes in its extension infrastructure. So, I wonder if you would allow me to publish an updated version of your dictionary (perhaps I can update the database as well) as a separate app (because under the new framework, dictionaries are supposed to be packaged as Chrome apps not extensions). This way, your extension can be left unchanged for existing users.

    But before doing anything, I want to make sure that the use of your database is totally legal as I have some concerns about the legality of your database. You said above that Prof. Hutton allowed you to use his work. Are you sure he has a total control over his work. I mean, what about the publisher who published “A Dictionary of Cantonese Slang” and Kingsley Bolton who seems to be a co-author of this paper dictionary? In any case, I’d like to know a little bit more about this point and like to ask you to apply a widely accepted license such as Creative Commons (https://creativecommons.org/choose/) to your database if possible.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

